Eric Clapton, Layla

Song Challenge Day 27 – a song from your childhood: Back in the days my mother used to give me and my siblings a ride to school. Later we had to use the public transport to get there. But in a way that was okay. Since I could listen to my walkman. On the car ride with my mother it was always her music. Eric Clapton‘s unplugged album for instance. She played it over and over again, had actually bought it as a tape. How oldschool is that?

Layla was one of the songs on that tape. And actually I can listen to Eric Clapton again nowadays. I had a hard time getting along with his stuff for a long time after those days of the car rides. I simply had to listen to the stuff too much. But now it’s fine, so here is Eric Clapton’s Layla, the lyrics are below:

What’ll you do when you get lonely
And no one’s waiting by your side?
You’ve been running and hiding much too long.
You know it’s just your foolish pride.

Layla, you’ve got me on my knees.
Layla, I’m begging, darling please.
Layla, darling won’t you ease my worried mind?

I tried to give you consolation
When your old man had let you down.
Like a fool, I fell in love with you,
Turned my whole world upside down.

Layla, you’ve got me on my knees.
I’m begging, darling please.
Layla, darling won’t you ease my worried mind?

Let’s make the best of the situation
Before I finally go insane.
Please don’t say we’ll never find a way
And tell me all my love’s in vain.

Layla, you’ve got me on my knees.
I’m begging, darling please.
Layla, darling won’t you ease my worried mind? (x2)

[solo, Mark Knopfler]

Layla, you’ve got me on my knees.
Layla, I’m begging, darling please.
Layla, darling won’t you ease my worried mind? (x2)

This entry was posted in Song Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

