God Help The Girl, Linnea

Song Challenge Day 18 – a song that you wish you heard on the radio: There are a lot of songs I would love to hear on the radio more often. One is Baby You’re Blind by God Help The Girl. That is some side project of Stuart Murdoch, the frontman of the fantastic Scottish band Belle and Sebastian. Murdoch doesn’t really sing there, however. He invited guest vocalists, all female as far as I know.

Baby You’re Blind features Linnea Jönsson on vocals. She is the singer of the best pop band around these days i’d say, Those Dancing Days from Sweden. Most of their songs are also songs I’d like to hear on the radio more often, both thier albums are simply grant, In Our Spacehero Suits as well as Daydreams & Nightmares!

Baby you’re blind if you just can’t feel it
I’ll always keep my mouth in check
Since you’re clearly tied to “Miss-likely-to-make-it”
What’s an ordinary girl to expect?
If you find her slippin
She doesn’t love you like she used to do
You’re my first and always
I wouldn’t say I’m given to prayer
But my head is bowed and then God knows how
I really think of you

Baby I’m mad when I see you walking
I’ve only got seconds to spare
I’ve got to be on call, look sensational
Maybe there’s a chance you’d care
If you see the real me
The one that doesn’t shiver and shake
You’re my first and always
I wouldn’t say I’m given to dreams
But you came to me unexpectedly
I don’t want you to leave

Baby it’s March, going to wait till April
To let the situation change
I’ve got a rented flat and a big fat cat
Who’s picking up on all the pain I feel
Should I come between you?
Poison in your world of bliss
I’ve seen you looking
You’re wondering what it could be like
Take a boy like you only twenty two
Already caught for life
Take a boy like you only twenty two
Already caught for life

This entry was posted in Song Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

