The White Stripes, Seven Nation Army

Song Challenge Day 16 – a song that you used to love but now hate: Seven Nation Army by The White Stripes is the choice. But I do not hate the song, I still think it is great and will be an all-time classic some day. By now it’s just somehow connected to football stadiums and the world cup 2006.

Elephant is a fantastic record and I still listen to it at times. But given that i was force-listening to Seven Nation Army that often I am always tempted to skip this particular song nowadays. However, I am sure the pleasure of listening to this song will return some time! Here is the video, the lyrics are below.

I’m gonna fight ’em off
A seven nation army couldn’t hold me back
They’re gonna rip it off
Taking their time right behind my back
And I’m talking to myself at night
Because I can’t forget
Back and forth through my mind
Behind a cigarette
And the message coming from my eyes
Says leave it alone

Don’t want to hear about it
Every single one’s got a story to tell
Everyone knows about it
From the Queen of England to the hounds of hell
And if I catch it coming back my way
I’m gonna serve it to you
And that ain’t what you want to hear,
But that’s what I’ll do
And the feeling coming from my bones
Says find a home

I’m going to Wichita
Far from this opera for evermore
I’m gonna work the straw
Make the sweat drip out of every pore
And I’m bleeding, and I’m bleeding, and I’m bleeding
Right before the lord
All the words are gonna bleed from me
And I will think no more
And the stains coming from my blood
Tell me go back home

This entry was posted in Song Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

