The National, Vanderlyle Crybaby Geeks

Song Challenge Day 10 – a song that makes you fall asleep: The choice is Vanderlyle Crybaby Geeks by The National, taken from the album High Violet. But not because the song is boring or whatever, it simply has a calming effect on me for some reason. So no, I don’t use to fall asleep when listening to music. Somehow doesn’t work for me. Just like when my mother used to read for me back in the days before I went to bed. I wouldn’t fall asleep until she had stopped reading.

Is there an official video to the song yet? I couldn’t find one, hope the one above does. Here are the lyrics:

Leave your home
Change your name
Live alone
Eat your cake

Vanderlyle, crybaby, cry
Oh the waters are risin’
Still no surprisin’ you
Vanderlyle, crybaby, cry
Man its all been forgivin’
Swans are a swimmin’
I’ll explain everything to the geeks

All the very best of us
String ourselves up for love
All the very best of us
String ourselves up for love
All the very best of us
String ourselves up for love
All the very best of us
String ourselves up for love

Vanderlyle, crybaby, cry
Oh the waters are risin’
Still no surprisin’ you
Vanderlyle, crybaby, cry
Man its all been forgivin’
Swans are a swimmin’
I’ll explain everything to the geeks

Hangin’ from chandeliers
Same small world
At your heels

All the very best of us
String ourselves up for love
All the very best of us
String ourselves up for love
All the very best of us
String ourselves up for love
All the very best of us
String ourselves up for love

Vanderlyle, crybaby, cry
Oh the waters are risin’
Still no surprisin’ you
Vanderlyle, crybaby, cry
Man its all been forgivin’
Swans are a swimmin’
I’ll explain everything to the geeks

I’ll explain everything to the geeks
I’ll explain everything to the geeks

This entry was posted in Song Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

