Bruno Mars, Marley, Liquor

Song Challenge Day 09 – a song that you can dance to: I don’t know why but to me it is incredibly challenging to dance to electronic music. Give me a rock, pop or a hip-hop song and I’m in. But if it gets too electronic… no way!

Okay, it also depends on your definition of dancing. I sure can do some of this shitty alibi dancing to electronic music, that is not the problem. But I just don’t feel this electronic music and. at least to me, dancing is a lot to do with feelings, emotions, etc.

I’ll go for Bruno Mars and Damian Marley, Liquor Store Blues. I really like and feel this song for some reason. The lyrics are below:

Standing at this liquor store
Whiskey, Cognag on a toast
Feeling like I’m running on a block
… chinky that’s why you can catch me here
Try’na scratch my way up to the top

Coz my job got me going no where
So I ain’t got a thing to lose
Take me to a place where I don’t care
This is me, I’m a liquor store blues

I’ll take one shot for my pain
One track for my sorrow
Get messed up today
I’ll be okay tomorrow

One shot for my pain
One track for my sorrow
Get messed up today
I’ll be okay tomorrow

Me and my guitar tonight
Singing to the city lights
Tryna to living more than what I got
Cos’ sixty-eix inches
Ain’t gonna pay the ransom
I’ll be out untill they call the cops

Coz my job got me going no where
So I ain’t got a thing to lose
Take me to a place where I don’t care
This is me, I’m a liquor store blues

I’ll take one shot for my pain
One track for my sorrow
Get messed up today
I’ll be okay tomorrow

One shot for my pain
One track for my sorrow
Get messed up today
I’ll be okay tomorrow

Give me this one shot for my pain
One track for my sorrow
I’ll get messed up today
I’ll be okay tomorrow

One shot for my pain
One track for my sorrow
Get messed up today
I’ll be okay tomorrow

This entry was posted in Song Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

